Meeting Jesus in the air

No I’m not referring to the rapture, but meeting with the Lord on my way to Frankfurt, at 34000 ft. It was torture keeping myself awake at Singapore airport, but it paid off – I slept 6 hours straight. Now I’m refreshed in mind and body and ready, as I regularly do each morning, to spend time alone with God.

Its dark here and everyone else around me is asleep. And the quiet roar of the jet engines means I can pray aloud. Perfect. I know we don’t HAVE to pray aloud; our Father hears our thoughts. But its better for my sake. It makes his presence more real and tangible.

I start by plugging in my earphones and listening to “Lord I love to seek your face” by Ron Kenoly. My soul is moved. That’s followed by “Joyful joyful we adore you” by Casting Crowns. Precious old hymns brought to new life with a building crescendo of violins and crashing symbols. Beautiful. I do adore you Lord.

I’m ready for the Word (this is not a standard routine; I mix it up often). I’m drawn, by the theme of these two songs to Psalm 84:1-2.

“How lovely is your dwelling place, O LORD of hosts! My soul longs, yes, faints for the courts of the LORD; my heart and flesh sing for joy to the living God.”

Yes it is indeed lovely. My soul too longs for God’s presence. And I am singing inside with joy.

This time of meditation and praise propels me to pray for my wife and my kids, for our church, for Joe my associate pastor and for my trip ahead.

Two readings follow from my yearly reading plan: 2 Kings 18 (Hezekiah’s faith – I wish I had time to write about that), and John 16. The second caught my attention. Jesus is comforting the disciples and the news of his departure with the promise of the Holy Spirit. He has to go, otherwise the Spirit can’t come (v.7). And when he goes the Spirit will teach and reveal and lead and guide in his place. And thirdly, his going will cause the diciples’ weeping, but the world’s rejoicing (v.20). That’s where you and I come in. Because of the Spirit, I have heard and believed and turned and responded and found new life. The very life I am now celebrating in the Lord’s presence.

Thank you Jesus, for meeting with me in the air.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

