A view from my hotel window


Where would you place this? Serbia? Sarajevo? How about an apartment building in Moldova?

Look closely; some of the windows are broken. Gazing out of my hotel window, I wonder why I have so much while they have so little.

I took a walk later that day down the street beside this building. I passed by an old woman selling her wares, some poky shops selling a mixture of who-knows-what, some kids playing in a car park, and a grocery store hidden away in an old warehouse building. There’s a beat-up Lada on one side of the street and a new Mercedes on the other.

Like the Ukraine, it is a land of great contrasts.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

