A Great Mayor and his Grave Sin

Auckland-Mayor-Len-Brown

Our much loved and very popular city Mayor has taken a fall – not physically or politically, but morally.  His two-year affair with a woman 20 years his junior has now gone public.  The chickens have come home to roost.  And now he’s doing his best to try and manage it, both in his home and his council chambers.

Many are saying, “What’s the big deal?  What he does in private is his business.  It doesn’t affect what he does in public.”   Hang on a minute here – I don’t think these individuals are really thinking about what they are saying.  His indiscretion is not just about sex.  It goes much deeper than that.  It’s about a betrayal of trust at the deepest human level.  He broke a marriage covenant with this wife.  He broke a trust-relationship with his daughters.  He betrayed the four people that were nearest and dearest in his life and we are saying “It’s no problem, we can trust him with a city of 1.4 million.”  What if he had embezzled family trust funds?  Can you imagine people saying, “What he does in private is his own business.”  I don’t think so.

I need to stop.  Because this isn’t the reason why I wanted to write about this on my blog.  There is a more personal reason.

Every time a man like Len Brown fails morally, it is a like knife to my own soul.  This is a fellow man, a very capable man, and yes – even a good man who has allowed sin and sinful temptation to get the upper hand.  And I know full well it could happen to me.

“Let anyone who thinks that he stands take heed lest he fall” Paul writes in 1 Cor. 10:12, “No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man.”  Yes, Len Brown, I succumb to the same temptations.  The only difference between you and me is, by God’s grace I have not given into to it. But I could have.  And I know it.

I sense the Spirit’s warning.  I’m in the public arena.  I have people watching me, trusting me; depending on me.  So I need to be even more vigilant, watchful, and wary.  I must guard my eyes, my thoughts, and my affections.  I must guard my mind and my heart.  I must  cultivate deeper longings and affections for Christ and His Word, for I know when I am satisfied in Him I need no other substitute.  I must also cultivate deep affection for my wife and enjoy her friendship, her counsel and her presence above that of any other human being.  I must discipline my body and bring it under subjection, so that my hands and my feet and my stomach and yes – even my sex drive obey my every bidding.

All these things I must do all this, not in my own strength, but in the strength that God supplies.  May God help me.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

