Staying young while growing old

It’s Christmas Day at the Somervell’s – we’ve eaten, we’re satisfied and the adults are enjoying some good conversation around the table. Then one of our guests pulls out the water balloons. “Come on Mr. Somervell, you promised…”

I did? My memory was failing me, especially at that moment.  I must be showing my age. No, a water-fight was not what I had in mind for a relaxing Christmas Day afternoon. Then I thought about it. If I start to wimp out now, in my late 40s, what’s going to happen when I’m in my 50s or 60s? Will I be too old to have fun? Will I think I’m past it? The thought horrified me. I slipped out to grab my togs. By the time I arrived back, it was in full swing.???????????????????????????????

Look closely, there’s a water balloon hurtling through the air at high speed and it’s heading for the girls.  They had the upper deck, the guys had the lower deck. Yep, an unfairIMG_1356 military advantage. Heaving water uphill takes a lot more strength and skill than tipping it downhill, as the photo proves. The content of that white bucket is heading downhill and, well, you can see the results for yourself – Katherine is enjoying the moment.???????????????????????????????

Well, us guys came up with some ingenious ideas on how to get around that. It’s called a hose – a marvelous asset in a water fight.???????????????????????????????         And here it is in action, in the picture on the left.  As you can see, it brings about wonderful results. After this, there wasn’t a dry human being left on the top deck.

After this, it was time to storm the heights. We loaded ourselves with every and anyIMG_1364 container we could find and mounted the stairs in attacking waves. The result was stunning.  We drove them back and subdued them!

Henry David Thoreau once said, “No one is so old as those who have outlived enthusiasm.” I think feeling old is a state of mind more than it is a condition of the body (though in saying that, keeping fit at mid-life sure is an advantage). Here’s the thing Dads: if you want to create good family memories, if you want to be remembered as a fun-loving Dad, and if you want your own kids to grow up playing with their kids, you need to get off your backside and do something about it. Model it. Model what it means to love Jesus and love a bit of fun. Show your sons that life still happens at 50.

You’ll give your whole family a reason to smile.

???????????????????????????????

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

