Tell me the story

The%20Expulsion%20from%20the%20Garden%20of%20Eden%20DetailLiving the Christian life is not always easy. It’s not a walk in the park. It is filled with trials and disappointments. The Christian experiences highs and lows like everyone else (actually they can be more severe because of the spiritual battle he is in). The difference is the Christian is able to view his lows through a gospel lens; to see that his life is part of a larger story – a story that began in Eden and will culminate in the new heavens and the new earth.

Whenever I hit these lows I have a favourite song I love to play. It’s called “The Story” from Caedmon’s Call. It was released back in 2006 so it’s been out for a while now. But the lyrics are brilliant.

The song tells of mankind’s sad history, of losing his innocence in the garden through Adam’s disobedience. We had everything we could have possibly wanted or needed, we had life and hope. And we had God. But we lost it all. We discovered sin, our eyes were opened and God disappeared from our lives. We got ourselves into a right mess.

But God had a bigger plan, to redeem and reconcile us back to himself through a second Adam – one who would not fail but love and obey God to the very end. He is the promised One, the Messiah who was born of a virgin, died on a cross in our place and rose again to give us new life. He’s coming back to restore all things to himself and to take his people to be with him in another garden, in the new heavens and new earth.

It’s astounding when I think about it, that God would do this for me (or anyone for that matter). What am I to him? Why should he care? Such wondrous love. Such grace.

When I play this song I am reminded of my sad past and my hopeless situation. I am reminded of my sinful ways, my rebellious heart and my foolish pride. That’s who I was in Adam. I was headed for ruin. Then came the second Adam; Jesus – my Saviour, my hero, my champion. He came to set things right, to reverse the curse and bring life and hope and immortality through the gospel. He saved me, he freed me, and gave me new life.

I love hearing this story. I’ll be happy to hear it retold for the rest of my days.

  Caedmon’s Call: The Story

In some sweet ways it’s simple,
Sometimes that’s all I can need:
To trust someone else so I can get some sleep.

All our heroes have deserted,
Said we were nothing on our own,
Now that’s all I am,

O, can you tell me the story
Of all of your Glory?
Of your rising again?
Cause I, I’m in love with the mystery
Of how our sad history
Can turn out for good.

And the bitter man is angry,
Angry man just thinks he’s right,
Too right to see mercy when he’s standing in its light,

We can shed tears over dying,
We can rage and we can fight,
But we can not forget that
We were loved before we opened up our eyes,
Such foolish pride.

O, can you tell me the story
Of all of your Glory?
Of your rising again?
Cause I, I’m in love with the mystery
Of how our sad history Can turn out for good.

It’s a shame to build our homes
With bricks of fear and cynical stones,
There is nothing left to run from,
There is nothing left but love

O, can you tell me the story
Of all of your Glory?
Of your rising again?
Cause I, I’m in love with the mystery
Of how our sad history
Can turn out for good.

Can you tell me the story?
I need to hear it again

61OiZcfC6nL__SL500_AA280_

 

 

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

