Friendship

friendsTaking photos is a hobby of mine. I’m not a professional photographer. I haven’t taken any classes (though I probably should do at some stage).  I just love capturing memories – of people and life and events. I love scenes of nature and the beauty of God’s creation.  Sometimes I’m just looking for a scene that catches my eye. I’m not sure what will come of it – I just have a sense there is something special about it. Here is one of those scenes.

I was initially looking at the man with the dog in his jacket. He was having a little conversation. It was kind of cute.  Then he started pointing to things across the water and telling his dog about it. There’ s a shot, I thought. I was only when I looked through the lens of my phone that I saw the two friends having a conversation on the other side of the boat. Now here’s a real shot. I got it in the nick of time. One fraction of a second too late and I would have missed it.

wp_20160926_014

The same scene a millisecond after I took the shot

I think this may be one of the best photos I’ve ever taken. Let me tell you why.

First, it tells story. It’s a story about friendship – a man and his dog and two teen-age girls (my daughter and her best friend). Both are fully engaged in their friendship, speaking close into the ear of their companion, over the noise of the boat engines. But they don’t notice each other. They are in their own little worlds, yet on the same boat (so to speak). Second, there is symmetry. Notice how both scenes are perfectly and evenly divided by the boat wake trailing in the background, with the two lifebuoys either side. And then third, there is a hidden element. There is a woman in the background, seated behind the girls who is gazing into the horizon. That happens to be my wife.

If you’d like to comment on this photo I’d be interested in your thoughts (especially if you’ve had any training or have an artist’s eye). I don’t mind you telling me it’s over-rated. I don’t get offended easily. I just enjoy taking pictures and telling stories.

 

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

